How do I create, edit & delete users from UpRaise?

Managing users is one of the most vital functions in UpRaise. At the moment, each user can have following attributes - Name & Profile Pic (populated from JIRA profile), UpRaise RoleDesignation, Manager, Teams. As the number of users grows, we recommend periodically checking your user list and making the necessary updates; or allowing your team members to update their profile information themselves via Self service.

Accessing Users List

UpRaise Admin or Super Admin can ensure this correctness through Company Directory screen under Administration.

For the server/on-premise version of the add-on - at the time of installation, UpRaise imports all the JIRA users in its own data tables. 

For the cloud/on-demand version of the add-on - users cannot be imported at the time of installation. They have to be added manually.

For both - Server & Cloud versions, whenever a user navigates to one of the UpRaise pages his/her entry is created in the UpRaise DB, if it doesn't exist already. This can help UpRaise administrators reduce their load by not needing to add each & every JIRA user to UpRaise. Simply send a common email to all the users who should be allowed access to UpRaise, include a link to UpRaise Dashboard in that email. When the users navigate to the dashboard they are automatically added to UpRaise. Note that this works only if Limited Rollout is Turned Off.

All the users who are added to JIRA post UpRaise Installation are inserted into UpRaise data tables when they navigate to any of the UpRaise screens. If UpRaise Admin or Super Admin notices any discrepancy in users' data he can manage them by navigating to the 'Users' tab under Company Directory.

Adding New User

UpRaise Admin or Super Admin can add new users from the highlighted section below. User box when clicked searches for JIRA users - through username, display name as well as email address. Although existing users in UpRaise data tables also show up in the result - trying to add them will give you an error 'This user already exists in UpRaise'.

Cannot find a user?  Check this out for troubleshooting.

While adding new user Admin or Super Admin has to decide the role of this user by clicking on UpRaise Role option. If Limited Rollout is Turned on and you are UpRaise Admin then you can assign role of User, Admin, No Access. If You are a Super Admin then all four roles i.e. User, Admin, Super Admin & No Access will be available in dropdown. For more details, read how UpRaise roles are managed

Clicking on the Designation dropdown opens up the list of designations that can be searched through, by typing. UpRaise Admin or Super Admin can not only select any of the existing designations, but also create new ones on the fly (refer to the screenshot below). When you start typing a designation that does not exist in UpRaise data tables, it tells you (in brackets) that this designation will be newly created along with the user. Note that, if you do not go through the process of adding user - new designation will not be added.

As soon as a designation is created, it will appear under designation tab for managing designations.

While trying to make someone as Manager of another user, it is important to note that the user should be first added into the UpRaise data tables before being marked as someone else' manager. Essentially, while the user select box searches the users in JIRA data tables - manager select box searches the users in UpRaise data tables.

It is important to note that UpRaise does not allow a circular reporting structure. e.g. if B is manager of A & C is manager of B then A cannot be the manager of C. Also, one cannot be his own manager.

One user can be a part of multiple teams. Thus the Teams search box allows searching & selecting multiple teams at a time. If the team does not yet exist, UpRaise Admin or Super Admin can create one on the fly - similar to how a new designation can be created.

Editing Existing User

UpRaise Admin or Super Admin can search and edit existing users from the highlighted section below. The search results are filtered as you type along any of the parameters. You can either search the users through their JIRA display name, their role, their designation, their manager or the teams they belong to. 

UpRaise Admin or Super Admin can select any of the users for editing from the list. Just click on the 'pencil' icon that appears on mouse over for each user row. 

One can observe that while editing, User box is disabled deliberately. This ensures that only the selected user's profile attributes are updated and not the user herself. UpRaise Role, Designation, Manager & Team editing is same as that of while adding a new user.

When a user is a team lead of any team, he cannot be directly removed from the team. First he needs to be removed as the team lead from the team tab.

Deleting Existing User

There might arise a situation where someone is removed from JIRA and thus will need to be removed from UpRaise data tables as well. UpRaise automatically updates users when they are either deactivated or deleted from JIRA. Such users appear in company directory -> user listing with (Deleted) or (Deactivated) suffix. Of course, UpRaise does not allow update of attributes for these users.