How To Manage UpRaise Access

In many cases, the requirement is to restrict UpRaise access to certain JIRA users. There are multiple reasons for doing this. A few that we have come across frequently

  • Outsiders have access to JIRA & companies do not want them to be able to have access to UpRaise.
  • Another use case for having restricted access is when you want to roll out UpRaise gradually.
  • Users want to allow or restrict UpRaise Access to specific JIRA Group/s.

UpRaise access can be configured through the setting in Company Directory under Administration. 

Following is applicable to the server versions 3.6.8 & beyond

There are three possible options. Only one can be selected at a time.

  • All users
  • User Based Access
  • JIRA group based access

By default, UpRaise Access will be set to  "User Based Access", where no other JIRA users will have access to UpRaise, except UpRaise Admin/Super Admin.

All Users:

When you select All Users option, every active JIRA user will be able to access UpRaise. This option can be used when you want all JIRA users to have UpRaise access. All users except Admin/Super admin will be assigned the role of 'User', which can be later changed to Admin/Super Admin if needed. Only UpRaise Admin/Super  Admin  will have the permission to change someone's role.

User Based Access:

When you select User Based Access option, you are opting to choose access levels on a per user basis. When turning to this option, all users will be set to 'No Access' except existing UpRaise Admin/Super Admin. You will need to make use of the "UpRaise Role" column to change user's role from No Access to User/Admin/Super Admin (Refer Images below) & update. In this way, one can decide who should have access and who should not.

This option is typically useful when the number of users in your company are not beyond say 200-500. After that it becomes difficult to manage access on a per user basis.

e.g. In the above snap as User Based Access option is selected,  all users except admin/super admin are marked with 'No Access'.

Being an Admin or Super Admin you can always change User Role to any other desired role like User/Admin/Super Admin and give access to UpRaise or revoke it. 

Note that the users who have No Access role of UpRaise - cannot see even the top UpRaise menu & also cannot be used anywhere in Continuous Feedback, Objectives or Review Forms.

Although UpRaise is accessible to all the JIRA users when All Users option is selected, user entry needs to be available in Company Directory of UpRaise for that user to be used in Continuous Feedback, Objectives or Review Forms.

JIRA group based access:

This setting is easiest way for companies with >500 users in JIRA. It will let you control UpRaise access based on JIRA groups user belongs to.

Let us say you have JIRA groups such as developers, project managers, leads etc. 

You can disable access for all except select groups. This will allow you to control upraise access & to limit it to explicitly selected groups. Any user who belongs to that group will get the access automatically.

Vice versa, you can enable access for all groups except select groups. This will make it easy for you to keep a certain group out of UpRaise.

You can notice in above image if you add JIRA groups in the first field called "All Groups Can Access Except" then the selected groups are going to be restricted from UpRaise and rest will be given access to Upraise. 

When you click on the radio button "No Groups Can Access Except" then selected groups are going to have access and rest will be restricted. 

Once you click on the any of the fields, you will get a drop-down list of existing JIRA groups, you can make a selection and click on save.

When using Group based access, you cannot grant or revoke access at individual level. e.g. if a user is assigned 'no access' because he belongs to the group that does not have access - only way to give him access is to a) change group access setting or b) change his group. At the user level, you won't be allowed to grant access. Same is true for when you want to revoke access.

Following is applicable to the cloud version & server versions prior 3.6.8 release

Turning Off Limited Rollout means, UpRaise is accessible to all the JIRA users.

By default, Limited Rollout is Turned On to ensure UpRaise is not made available to all the JIRA users unknowingly.

When Turned On, all users will have No Access Role except (UpRaise Admin/Super Admin). You will need to make use of the "UpRaise Role" column to change user's role from No Access to User/Admin/Super Admin (Refer Images below) & update. In this way one can decide who should have access and who should not.

e.g. In the above snap, as Limited Rollout is Turned on so Users are in No Access role of UpRaise and you can change it to desired role like User/Admin/Super Admin and give access to UpRaise.

Note that the users who are assigned No Access - cannot see the top UpRaise menu & also cannot be used anywhere in Continuous Feedback, Objectives or Review Forms.

When limited Rollout is Turned Off - all JIRA users can see the top UpRaise menu. These users by default will be assigned the role of User which can be later changed to Admin/Super Admin if needed. Only UpRaise Admin/Super admin has the access to change someone's role.